Pixels Ensemble

Pixels Ensemble: Remembrance

Monday, 13 November 2017 Time: 7.30pm


Ian Percy - new work, for clarinet, violin, cello and percussion

Toru Takemitsu - Rain Tree Sketch II (in memoriam Olivier Messiaen), for solo piano

Louis Andriessen - Woodpecker, for solo percussion

George Lentz - Nguurraa, for clarinet, violin, cello, piano and percussion

Olivier Messiaen - Quartet for the End of Time, for clarinet, violin, cello and piano


Pixels Ensemble:

Mark Simpson - clarinet

Thelma Handy - violin

Jonathan Aasgaard - Cello

Simone Rebello - percussion

Ian Buckle – piano


Pixels Ensemble is a collective of established chamber music players with a shared passion for performing the finest repertoire, from the classical period to the present day. Vastly experienced and versatile, the group appears in a wide range of combinations and line-ups, lending itself to innovative programming and enabling huge variety within individual concerts.

This special Remembrance concert includes alongside exciting contemporary works by composers Toru Takemitsu and Louis Andriessen, a performance of Olivier Messiaen's classic Quartet for the End of Time, a piece written whilst a prisoner of war in German captivity, and first premiered by his fellow prisoners.


NB: This concert takes place in the Great Hall at Liverpool Hope University Creative Campus, close to the Capstone Theatre.

Ticket Details